Name: BUSINESS IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT BOARD #26 (MENOMONEE VALLEY)

Type: Board or Commission

Description: **PURPOSE**: Section 66.1109, Wis. Stats., allows cities to create one or more business

improvement districts to develop, manage and promote the district. They are further permitted to establish an assessment method to fund the activities to be undertaken by the district. All of the foregoing are described in an annual operating plan which is prepared by the district board and approved by the Common Council. The operating plan also describes the amount of the special assessment to be levied against each property in the district.

District #26 encompasses the general area bounded by the East-West Freeway (I-94), W. Pierce St., S. 2nd St. and N. 44th St..

COMPOSITION: Nine members, appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Common Council, a majority of must either own or occupy real property in the District. Members serve three-year terms, staggered.

A member continues to serve after the completion of his or her term until reappointed or until a successor has been appointed.

CREATING AUTHORITY: Section 66.1109, Wis. Stats. and Common Council File Number 990931 as amended by 051220,150856 and 170873

SALARY: Reimbursement for actual and necessary expenses.

STAFFING: Ken Little, Commercial Corridor Manager, Kenneth.little@milwaukee.gov, 414-286-5617; Corey Zetts, Menomonee Valley Partners, Inc., 301 W. Wisconsin Ave., 274-4655.

LAST UPDATED: January 6, 2021

Name	Title	Start Date	End Date			
Claudia Paetsch Appointed By:	Member Mayor Cavalier Johnson	9/21/2022	9/21/2024	*		
Daniel Sterk	Member	9/20/2022	9/20/2025	*		
Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier Johnson					
David Emmerich	Member	3/4/2022	3/4/2025	*		
Appointed By:	Mayor Tom Barrett					
Jeff Morgan	Member	10/7/2020	10/7/2023	*		
Appointed By:	Mayor Tom Barrett					
Joyce Koker	Member	9/22/2022	9/22/2025	*		
Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier Johnson					
Larry Stern	Member	9/27/2022	9/27/2025	*		
Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier Johnson					
Ronald Moore	Member	7/1/2020	7/1/2023	*		
Appointed By:	Mayor Tom Barrett					

T. Arthur Downey	Member	12/9/2016	12/9/2019	*			
Appointed By: Mayor Tom Barrett							
Thomas Olejniczak	Member	12/9/2020	12/9/2023	*			
Appointed By: Mayor Tom Barrett							
Tracey Heber	Member	11/9/2021	11/9/2024	*			
Appointed By: Mayor Tom Barrett							